Book Review: Disconnected

image

Seventeen-year-old Milly has a huge problem on her hands.  She is being bullied by Amelia Norris. Day in and day out, Amelia torments Milly and even threatens to hurt her, but she can’t tell anyone—not a soul.  Milly’s reasoning—she does not want anyone to know where her tormentor lives.  They only share one thing in common.  Both co-exist as one in the same body. Milly is so disconnected from her past that she feels compelled to find out what truly happened to her when her parents were still alive.  After a mysterious fire, she and Grandpa George move into Aunt Rachel’s Victorian home where Milly then begins to unravel puzzling clues to her family history. Through dreams and scattered memories, Milly journals her breaking story, trying to cope by putting the shattered pieces back together, all the while resisting with her inner demon.  Amelia is determined to cut Milly out of the real world—literally.Milly starts to wonder who her real family is after stumbling across Aunt Rachel’s notebook—having the intuitive sense that something terribly awful is missing.  All she had thought to be true now seems like one big lie. -Goodreads summary

Publication Date: June 3, 2014.

Order your copy now: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository

Favorite Quote from the Book:

“I am no longer in denial of the truth….After all that has happened, I am now looking ahead and into the future instead of searching for what happened…” 

My Thoughts:

I would first like to thank Maryglenn at The Poisoned Press who graciously sent me a copy of Disconnected to review.

As someone who is majoring in English, I am very familiar with grammar and mechanics rules and become frustrated when I see mistakes.  Unfortunately, there are quite a few grammar and mechanics errors in Disconnected.  At times, I found myself to be too distracted by these errors which detracted from story.

Additionally, I do not enjoy the “insta-love” in this book.  I certainly don’t mind “insta-attraction,” but there is legitimate insta-love and love professions when the couple, Milly and Blake have not even had a first date.  It is a little absurd to me as Milly is a mature and sensible protagonist in the book.  Also, I wish that Cronkhite delved more into Blake’s story.  He alludes to having personal issues which give him depth to his character and make him relatable to Milly.  Unfortunately, Blake and their relationship do not delve much deeper than a superficial level.

Besides these issues, I find Disconnected to be an extremely enjoyable read.  Recently, mental illness is becoming less “taboo” in our culture, and I appreciate Cronkhite exploring these topics in her book.  It gives genuine depth to the characters while shedding light on this topic.

Additionally, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and plot twists in this book.  The mystery elements in this book are so intriguing that I could not stop reading it until I solved the mystery.  The plot and writing style are so addicting!  And, let me tell you, those are some MAJOR plot twists that are so unpredictable.  These aspects correlate with the high rating that I ultimately give the book. 

My Rating:

★★★★ 4/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I’d recommend this for those who enjoy mysteries and psychological thrillers.

View text
  • #book #books #book review #lit #literature #read #reading #ya #young adult #ya book #ya books #ya lit #ya literature #young adult book #young adult books #young adult lit #young adult literature #mystery boook #ya mystery #young adult mystery #psychological thriller #mental illness #summer reading
  • 3 months ago
  • 2

Want your book reviewed?

It’s finally summer!  For some, that means laying on the beach or traveling with family and friends.  For me, a massive bibliophile, that means reading.  With that being said, I am accepting review copies from publishers and/or authors.  If interested, please check out my Review Policy which also includes my book reviews.

I accept indie/self-published as well as more established authors/publishers.  However, please peruse my review policy to ensure that your book coincides with what books I accept.  

Interested? E-mail me at katherineeweber@yahoo.com.

View text
  • #book review #book reviewer #lit #literature
  • 4 months ago
  • 1

Book Review: Hushed

He’s saved her. He’s loved her. He’s killed for her.

Eighteen-year-old Archer couldn’t protect his best friend, Vivian, from what happened when they were kids, so he’s never stopped trying to protect her from everything else. It doesn’t matter that Vivian only uses him when hopping from one toxic relationship to another—Archer is always there, waiting to be noticed.

Then along comes Evan, the only person who’s ever cared about Archer without a single string attached. The harder he falls for Evan, the more Archer sees Vivian for the manipulative hot-mess she really is.

But Viv has her hooks in deep, and when she finds out about the murders Archer’s committed and his relationship with Evan, she threatens to turn him in if she doesn’t get what she wants… And what she wants is Evan’s death, and for Archer to forfeit his last chance at redemption.-Goodreads summary

Publication Date: December 6, 2011.

Favorite Quote from the Book:

“Karma is a cruel mistress.”

My Thoughts:

Hushed is provided to me via Netgalley from the publishers in exchange for an honest and respectful review.

Upon reading about this book on Netgalley, I knew I needed to read this book.  A book about serial killers is right down my dark alley-horrible pun intended.  And, the book starts with a murder; like the victim, I found myself gasping for air as I quickly turned the pages throughout the book.

Unfortunately, this heart rate inducing writing sort of stopped as the main character, Archer meets his love interest, Evan, which is within the first 15 pages.  I am not one of those people who hate romance in a novel; in fact, I quite enjoy the books that give me the warm and fuzzy feelings amidst some drama as long as it appropriately fits in the plot line.  In this book, the romance did not overly enthuse me.  Mostly, I find it to be not explained.  Prior to Archer falling for Evan, he is madly in love-you could probably classify it as an unhealthy obsession-with Vivian.  Suddenly, Archer is attracted to Evan which is fine, but I find myself wondering when is Archer going to “come out” to the readers.  Simply, his romantic feelings are kind of random and not thoroughly explained.

This lack of explanation is certainly something that carries throughout the novel.  Besides the romance, I had many questions regarding the plot that I never feel like are fully answered.  Many of my questions pertain to the latter half of the book, especially the ending, and to those of you who wish to read the book, I will not disclose them.  Just be forewarned, the latter half of this book is full of holes that the author never really fills.

Regardless of my disappointments, this book has its good qualities.  The author does write some pretty great action-packed scenes, and she certainly knows how to capture her audience.  Despite the ending having its loopholes, it does contain some heart-gripping, rapid page turning moments which leave you breathless and desiring more.

Overall, it is a decent read; it is not my favorite, but it is good.   

My Rating:

★★★ 3/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I’d recommend this to those who enjoy mystery and thriller books!

View text
  • #book review #books reviews #new adult #new adult book #new adult books #na #new adult lit #new adult literature #lit #literature #read #reading #book #books
  • 4 months ago
  • 3

Want your book reviewed?

As a book blogger with over 2,500 followers, I try to serve my fellow bibliophiles as best I can with book content. Book reviews are my most popular posts. If you are a publisher and/or author and have business inquiries, please e-mail me at katherineeweber@yahoo.com. I will send you my review policies & some book review samples. I look forward to doing business with you!

View text
  • #books #book review #book reviewer #lit #literature
  • 4 months ago
  • 3

Book Review: The Secret Daughter of the Tsar

A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which a secret fifth daughter—smuggled out of Russia before the revolution—continues the royal lineage to dramatic consequences

In her riveting debut novel, The Secret Daughter of the Tsar, Jennifer Laam seamlessly braids together the stories of three women: Veronica, Lena, and Charlotte. Veronica is an aspiring historian living in present-day Los Angeles when she meets a mysterious man who may be heir to the Russian throne. As she sets about investigating the legitimacy of his claim through a winding path of romance and deception, the ghosts of her own past begin to haunt her. Lena, a servant in the imperial Russian court of 1902, is approached by the desperate Empress Alexandra.  After conceiving four daughters, the Empress is determined to sire a son and believes Lena can help her. Once elevated to the Romanov’s treacherous inner circle, Lena finds herself under the watchful eye of the meddling Dowager Empress Marie. Charlotte, a former ballerina living in World War II occupied Paris, receives a surprise visit from a German officer. Determined to protect her son from the Nazis, Charlotte escapes the city, but not before learning that the officer’s interest in her stems from his longstanding obsession with the fate of the Russian monarchy. Then as Veronica’s passion intensifies, and her search for the true heir to the throne takes a dangerous turn, the reader learns just how these three vastly different women are connected. The Secret Daughter of the Tsar is thrilling from its first intense moments until its final, unexpected conclusion. -Goodreads summary

Publication Date: October 22, 2013.

Favorite Quote from the Book:

“It’s important to believe in something bigger than yourself.”

My Thoughts:

As you can tell, I picked up this book from Barnes & Noble for its beautiful cover and the concept of three different, possibly related, plots.  I am pleasantly surprised to say that I loved this book!

Firstly, I adore the writing style.  Laam writes with plenty of factual information and combines this research in her plots.  I never feel too bogged down by the historical information as it is elegantly weaved in her prose.  Additionally, she switches these plots and their historical information easily so readers can follow the different time periods.  In fact, Laam concludes these different plots with readers wanting more.  For example, she frequently ends a chapter with a major cliff hanger/plot twist.  Therefore, readers want to continue reading in order to find the solution.  Simply, the writing style is factual, eloquent, and addicting.

In addition to the writing style being addicting, I adore the characters in this book.  The main protagonists are all women, and they are some pretty strong ladies!  They all are daring and smart, but they have flaws which make them relatable.  Also, I like how Laam approaches the sometimes taboo topic of strong women in history.  Admittedly, much of history does not discuss the awesome women, but Laam presents some interesting women, especially the Empress and her mother-in-law.  Therefore, this book is a great reminder that there are other women in history that have surpassed ordinary measures in order to be great, but we, like Laam, need to seek out them!   

Normally, I am disappointed by books with multiple plots as I find the major ending plot twist to be a major disappointment.  However, this book’s ending has me still in shock.  It is fantastic.  I so desperately wish that I could elaborate, but I do not want to spoil it for anyone.  Seriously, you must read this book in order to read this ending because it is amazing!

My Rating:

★★★★★ 5/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I’d recommend this to those who enjoy historical fiction and mystery books.

View text
  • #book review #book #books #lit #literature #fiction #historical fiction #russia #imperial russia #read #reading
  • 4 months ago
  • 12

Book Review Contact

Hello, bibliophiles,

As a book blogger, I receive many book review requests.  Summer has started for me, and if you are interested in having me review a book for you, please send me an e-mail, katherineeweber@yahoo.com.  I do respond within 24-48 business hours.    

Please review my review policy here prior to submitting requests or if you have any questions.  Feel free to e-mail me any additional questions, too.

Happy reading!

Katie Weber

View text
  • #book #books #lit #literature #book reviewer #book blog #book review
  • 5 months ago

Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

image

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Publication Date: January 10, 2012.

Order your copy now: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | BookDepository

Favorite Quote from the Book:

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” 

My Thoughts:

Sadly, I did not fall for the hype of this book like so many others.  To me, it was an average book.  It is not awful, but I do not deem it a favorite like so many others.

One aspect of this book that I can appreciate is John Green’s overall writing-style.  Having read Looking for Alaska (and also deeming it an “average book”), I can see how much Green has developed as a writer.  The prose in this book is phenomenal and some of the best in Young Adult literature.  Sentences and metaphors (which seemed to annoy many people) seamlessly flow together creating a relatively pleasant and easy read for readers.

However, I could not let Green’s beautiful prose distract the content within the book.  Mainly, I have an issue between the romance of Augustus and Hazel.  Sadly, I would have to label their relationship as the stereotypical “insta-love.”  Since Green is such a renowned writer, I never believed he would stoop to writing insta-love in his stories, but I appear to be wrong.  In my opinion, I think the novel would have been better if Augustus and Hazel remained friends.  For a majority of their relationship, they acted as merely best friends and less like lovers.  I feel as though Green included the romance element in the book to make the story more heart-wrenching.  In reality, the romance is a distraction for a majority of this plot.

One of the biggest issues Augustus and Hazel face is their battles with cancers.  However, one is not completely aware of the severity of their cancers and what exactly their cancers entail.  Rather, the book placed a lot of emphasis on the “sick lovers” aspect.  When a child is diagnosed with cancer, falling in love is one of the last things on their mind.  There’s issues of treatments, finances, and death.  These are so overwhelming that a sick child cannot even begin to comprehend or tackle a relationship in the way Augustus and Hazel did.  I hate to say this, but it is a rather unrealistic portrayal of children with cancer; I know Green is highly praised for his realistic portrayal of teens, but this just wasn’t cutting it for me.

Additionally, I found the dialogue between Hazel and Augustus to be unlikely for two teenagers.  Do not get me wrong, Hazel and Augustus’s conversations are beautifully written and make great quotes, but no teenager talks so eloquently.  Admittedly, I cringe for the day when I will read the word “swag” in a young adult book, but at least that’s how many teenagers talk (sadly…).  A majority of the young adult population talks in slang, and many do not possess the knowledge or vocabulary that Augustus and Hazel exhibit throughout this book.  In my opinion, Augustus and Hazel are “character versions” of Green himself; I have nothing against Green, but there is a slight generation gap between him and teenagers which make his “typical conversations” very improbable to the conversations high school students have.

I do not want people to get me wrong.  I appreciate this book.  In fact, I firmly believe there need to be more books written about cancers, diseases, and illnesses.  Unfortunately, many Young Adult authors write books with perfect characters, perfect worlds, and perfect situations when this is hardly the case in many teens’ lives.  Many teenagers struggle with a variety of imperfections, and Young Adult authors should strive to demonstrate the commonality that exists in their problems.  After all, reading unites us!  However, I think that The Fault in Our Stars, while it details the account of two children with cancer, fails to completely recognize that life isn’t always perfect.  I applaud Green for his attempt, and I encourage him and others to continue to write books to the younger generation that demonstrate the imperfections we all face.

Overall, this book is an average contemporary read for me.  It is probably not one that I will reread in the immediate future, but I will always appreciate it as it is the first novel that I have read about cancer.

My Rating:

★ ★★ 3/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I would recommend this book searching for a contemporary novel detailing illnesses.  I would not recommend this book to those wanting to read a beautiful love story as I feel like the relationship between Augustus and Hazel is more of a friendship.

Please note: I read this book in 2013.

View text
  • #the fault in our stars #john green #lit #literature #read #reading #book #books #young adult #young adult lit #young adult literature #young adult book #young adult books #ya #ya lit #ya literature #ya book #ya books #book review
  • 9 months ago
  • 8

Book Review: Path Unchosen

When eighteen-year-old Judy Hudson discovers she’s a necromancer and sees first-hand the pain her powers can cause the dead, she just wants to deny who she is. The zombie plague is long over. She wants to find a more normal life, but that’s a challenge when a beautiful otherworldly man, who claims to be her guardian, saves her life. Judy tries to set right the harm she inflicted on a spirit she raised, but new zombies attack—zombies raised from among the long-time dead. Someone else just like her is out there, and he’s not trying to set anything right. To save her own life, and protect the innocent inhabitants of the nearby town who’ve become her friends, Judy has to figure out who’s raising the dead and why. She must also learn to control the darkness inside her—a seductive darkness that promises her power beyond her wildest dreams.-Goodreads summary

Publication Date: October 3, 2013.

Order your copy now: Amazon

Favorite Quote from the Book:

“I would learn and understand this gift.  In time, I would love it.  I belonged here.  This was who I am.”

MY THOUGHTS:

Judge the Book by its Cover:

Not a typical YA cover; it’s different.  I enjoy the cemetery setting with the raven as it alludes to important features of the novel.  After reading the novel, I see the relations this cover has with the novel, and I appreciate authors and cover artists who spend time making covers like these possible.

Things that Made Me Happy:

The character Judy has the admirable quality of determination to do good deeds with her powers.  Despite being recently introduced to her abilities, Judy ceaselessly uses her knowledge (and discovers methods to use her powers) in order to benefit others.  She truly is a caring character and is admirable to the audience.

Things that Made Me Unhappy:

Sadly, many elements make my unhappy about this novel.  Initially, I was extremely excited about the genre; a post-apocalyptic zombie book with some magical elements sound extremely appealing to the reader.  However, the plot summary and publisher’s blurb is extremely misleading.  Yes, this book is a post-apocalyptic zombie book with magic, but it also has a middle age historical feeling combined with steampunk, urban fantasy, and romance elements.  In short, this book is a combination of too many genres.  Due to all these genres, none of them are properly treated in the novel; they are simply introduced and never fully explained so as to introduce more elements of various genres.  Indeed, this can be appealing to a reader, but it is unsatisfactory because none of these genres are treated with dignity and professionalism.  Rather, they are imitations of other books.  Honestly, this book has so much potential but it is hindered by involving too many other book genres.

Thus, the combination of all these genres make the world-building nonexistent and unbelievable.  For example, the apocalypse that created the zombies is stated in the novel, but it is not explained.  Readers are left questioning what exactly caused and happened in the apocalypse and how zombies are created from it.  If this initially would have been explained towards the beginning of the novel, I believe this would have substantially aided the world-building in the novel because the totally unbelievable magical, steampunk, and urban fantasy elements could have been explained rather than suddenly thrown in the plot line.  It’s disheartening because there is no explanation of any of these genre elements, especially the magical elements.  How are certain characters magical and others aren’t?  Is magic familiar in the world or do the sorcerers need to hide it?  When an author introduces these genre elements, especially fantasy, in novels, he or she wants to secure the world building which is something Cleary fails to do in this novel.  These are rather pertinent questions to the plot line which aren’t really answered which again leave the reader frustrated.

Of course, there is romance in this novel, and you guessed it!  There is also a love triangle.  I believe on page 46 of this 338 page novel, Judy expresses interest of one of these men ON THE FIRST DAY SHE MEETS HIM.  She knows nothing about the man; he just shows up when she wakes up, and suddenly Judy is recognizing his “gorgeous attributes” as he gives her this internal longing inside her body.  Give me a break.  Cut the hormones.  Not every teenager has THAT MUCH angst.  Additionally, the other man is presumably much older than her; from his description and actions, I assume he is in his late twenties or early thirties.  The romance and love triangle are just unnecessary and detract from the other genres.  Really, not every young adult novel needs to include romance or even a love triangle to be appreciated and adored by the audience.  Honestly, it is getting overdone and typically isn’t executed well.

One would think I am done with my negative feelings about this book, but I am not done!  Additionally, many elements of this plot are predictable and blatantly stated by Cleary throughout the novel.  When a plot twist occurs, the reader is not amused because this has been stated by the author previously.  One of the greatest pieces of advice that I have received regarding writing fiction is to “Show.  Don’t tell.”  In this novel, there is an abundance of telling and limited showing.  Since everything is rather predictable in this book, I frequently got bored and, again, this added to my frustration.  Overall, the predictability, overemphasis of every character’s “suspicion,” and the suspected plot twist make this book dull.       

Lastly, I believe the word “awkward” sufficiently describes the writing style of this book.  Frequently, actions and days would pass without any sort of hint that the scene is changing.  In other words, the transitions are weak and the sudden switch in settings lead to confusion.  For example, Judy’s sudden arrival in town when she is at home in the previous sentence leave readers questioning about the turn of events.  Likewise, the chapters’ endings are just as random in the novel, too.  Judy is eating, and the chapter ends; Judy is saving a friend, and the chapter ends.  The differing resolutions at the chapters just aggravate the readers.  Simply, there is no consistency with Cleary’s writing style whether its settings, dialogues, or chapters’ resolutions. 

My Rating:

★ ★  2/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I wouldn’t recommend this book as a high-priority TBR book for anyone; however, if you have a day to yourself, and you enjoy an eclectic novel and don’t mind inconsistencies, then read this book.  It’s not awful; it’s just not my favorite book.

*I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

View text
  • #book review #path unchosen #kim cleary #book #books #lit #literature #read #reading #young adult book #young adult books #ya book #ya books #ya lit #ya literature #young adult lit #young adult literature #fantasy #urban fantasy #magic #romance #steampunk #zombies #young adult fantasy #young adult urban fantasy #young adult magic #young adult romance #young adult steampunk #young adult post apocalyptic #young adult zombies
  • 9 months ago
  • 2

Book Review: Too Fast

Twenty-year-old Savannah enjoys a one-time one-night stand because a real relationship would never fit into her busy schedule. Working two jobs and pursuing her degree takes all of her time. Besides, the guys she has dated haven’t been much better than the random barfly.

It’s a good thing Luke’s body is honed by the long hours of carpentry and construction because he carries the weight of his family on his shoulders. School hasn’t been an option for him since he dropped out to make the house payments his mother had failed to make.

Luke finds what he’s been longing for in a night with Savannah. She’s determined to stop with a one-night stand, but he wants more. Neither can deny the perfection of their passionate interludes, but with such imperfect lives, do they have any chance for a future together? Suddenly she’s losing her heart and it’s all happening much too fast.

Not recommended for readers under age 18 due to language and sexual content.-Goodreads summary

Publication Date: July 16, 2013.

Order your copy now: Amazon

Favorite Quote from the Book:

He stood, walked around the booth and pulled me to my feet.  ‘I love you too, Savannah.  So much.  And I know it’s fast.  Too fast, but so good.’  He pulled me against him, brushed my hair out of my face, and said, ‘Too damn good to stop now.’

MY THOUGHTS:

Judge the Book by its Cover:

To be honest the cover does not do this book any sort of justice; it makes the book look a trashy erotica novel.  I’m not a huge fan of this cover.

Things that Made Me Happy:

Well, this was officially my first New Adult novel, and I’m extremely pleased.  As a college student, I found this to be quite the perfect genre for me, as I sometimes find young adult books to be too immature and adult books tend to be irrelevant to my life.

First, I absolutely adored every character in this novel, particularly Savannah and Luke, our lovers.  I’m always hesitant when reading romance because 90% of the time the characters are cloaked with extreme desperation for love and acceptance, which make them look rather pathetic.  However, Savannah and Luke were some of the toughest and truthful romance characters that I have ever read.  They both have serious skeletons in their closets, which affected their daily lives, but they found comfort and solace in the other’s company.  When one was suffering, the other was supporting, which reflected a relationship’s idealistic qualities.  Moreover, the characters’ flaws made the relationship more believable.  No relationship is perfect!  Therefore, Savannah and Luke learned to confront their problems and remained true to the other.

As previously stated the relationship felt believable.  Savannah and Luke underwent a series of fortunate and unfortunate events that they confronted together; additionally, I experienced the heartwarming and heartbreaking moments with them.  While times got tense, Savannah and Luke were able to find the comfort within their relationship.  As this is how most healthy relationships work, I was extremely satisfied with these romance elements.

Overall, Too Fast was short and sweet but an impactful romance that offered beautiful glimpses into the powers of love, loss, and companionship.

Things that Made Me Unhappy:

Nothing!  I loved this book; it was such a surprise!

My Rating:

★★★★ 5/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I’d recommend this book to those who enjoy New Adult Contemporary Romance.

*This book was sent to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!* 

View text
  • #too fast #alexia haynes #new adult #new adult lit #new adult literature #new adult book #new adult books #new adult romance #new adult contemporary #new adult contemporary romance #romance #contemporary #contemporary romance #book review #book reviewer #lit #literature #book #books #read #reading
  • 1 year ago
  • 1

Book Review: Projection

When 13-year-old Gretchen Harris’s mother is murdered at Gretchen’s 8th Grade graduation party, everyone in the town of Delphi, California, suspects a power struggle within the Oculus Society: Delphi’s version of the Junior League.  Gretchen’s best friend, Jessica Shaw, might even hold the key to finding the culprit with The Plotinus Ability: the Oculus Society’s jealously guarded secret power to trade souls, which hinges on a kiss. Gretchen’s hope at finding the murderer ends in tragedy when Ariel Miller—the class outcast—stalks Gretchen and Jessica and surreptitiously films them exchanging a kiss to test if the Plotinus Ability is real, not knowing their motives. The ensuing YouTube video (“Popular Girls = Secret Lovers”) goes viral, Gretchen’s and Jessica’s lives are further shattered, and they vanish from Delphi.

Flash forward two years later: Ariel is suddenly the most popular junior in town, but wracked with guilt over what she did to Gretchen and Jessica.  When both girls reappear after their mysterious absence, Ariel finds herself pawn, suspect, and key player in their scheme to bring the murderer to justice.-Goodreads summary

Expected Publication Date: September 3, 2013.

Preorder your copy here: Amazon Barnes and Noble | BookDepository

Favorite Quote from the Book:

‘Our trust and our faith shall bring justice…This is the promise we solemnly keep.’

MY THOUGHTS:

Judge the Book by its Cover:

While I think the girl and overall design is beautiful, the book’s cover holds no relevance to the story.  In fact I believe that it is just a typical pretty YA cover designed with the intention to sell more books when it’s published.  It’s okay but not one of the best.

Things that Made Me Happy:

I absolutely loved how this book was told through dual plots: the ancient Romans’ invention and use of projection and the modern society’s continuation of projection.  Creatively, Green conceived this magical act of projection, the power to trade souls with another person, in the early Roman Empire.  While women were suppressed in this society, this power gave them a sense of sovereignty against the men’s oppressive authority.  Since then, women had secretly passed this power among generations, where it was found in the modern times of this book.  Still, women honored this power and found it was fundamental to their lives.  Both the ancient women and current women created a strong sense of female empowerment that made for a great read.

This book was full of many plot twists, which were unexpected by readers.  Combined with the tense mystery element, the plot’s zigzagged development constantly kept the audience on their toes in anticipation for what was to come. Nothing was predictable, which made for an overall entertaining read.

Wow, what a gripping ending.  Initially I was concerned within the last 50 pages because I felt that the novel would end unresolved; however, the novel quickly pieced together that created an intricate sub-plot story, which was entertaining and riveting. 

Things that Made Me Unhappy:

At times I felt that there were inconsistencies to the personalities of the characters, as if they were not fully developed.  While their development was not terrible, I believed that Green had the potential to create more three dimensional characters.  Considering this book was a mystery novel, implementing deeper well-developed characters would have further enhanced the mystery element and generated more suspicions.  Overall, their actions and mannerisms never fully created genuine characters, which was frustrating.

Lastly, Green overemphasized the true criminal.  Suddenly, all of his or her actions became suspicious, which aided in my belief that the people in this book sometimes acted out of character.  It was upsetting, as I was hoping for a more unsuspecting mystery.  While placing together the final pieces of the puzzle and capturing the criminal were fantastic, the suspect’s actions became increasingly annoying as they were too obvious and detracted from the mystery elements, which created more of a suspense novel.

My Rating:

★★★★4/5 stars!

Recommendation:

I’d recommend this book to those who enjoy simplistic young adult suspense and mystery novels.

*This book was sent to me via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review!* 

View text
  • #book review #risa green #projection #young adult #ya #young adult book #young adult books #young adult literature #young adult lit #young adult fiction #ya book #ya books #ya literature #ya lit #ya fiction #young adult mystery #young adult suspense #ya mystery #ya suspense #mystery #suspense #novel #book #books #lit #literature #fiction #book blogger
  • 1 year ago
x